Pratical Wisdom

In Pursuit of Patience

Four Ways to Increase Patience

Jackie Schwabe, MBA, MCC
6 min readAug 7, 2021

--

In my efforts to improve how I show up in the world with my kids, my husband, and my clients I have been looking at both areas where I excel and areas where I could use some up leveling. One of the areas where I think I can continue to evolve is my pursuit of patience. I define patience as my personal capacity to accept with grace any delay, challenge, or discomfort without getting pissed-off or silently judging others.

Of course, there are the standard recommendations for increasing patience. Just “stay calm.” You only need to “slow down” and everything will be fine. Take the time to really “think things through.” I am sure that most of us have heard these words said to them or they have said them to others that were trying to navigate a difficult situation at least once in their life. I also feel a bit challenged personally with patience when it feels like everyone around me is always rushing from one thing to another. So, I thought I would try to see if there were some additional ideas on how to improve my own patience. Here are four tips I ran across.

Interact with someone from another culture

--

--